Anyone else work professionally with EDs? - Bulimia Discussions - Forums and Community

About MPA

MPA is a site dedicated to the support or recovery of those suffering from eating disorders or body dysmorphic disorders. Please be sensitive to this fact when creating an account and contributing to the board.

Photo

Anyone else work professionally with EDs?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Bully.me.ugh

Bully.me.ugh

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 14 September 2021 - 08:41 PM

I know, I know. I’m a hypocrite. I work as a nurse for a well known eating disorder program. When I started, I swear I had good intentions. I was a few years behaviour free, and really thought I had put this eating disorder past me. But now I’m in the midst of a relapse. I just spent all shift advocating against disordered eating, but now I’m currently bingeing and purging in a parkade near work. I love my job, I really do. But I can’t help but wonder if I’m in it for the wrong reasons. I secretly pick up on new tricks and tips through my patients. I use my low weight admissions to purposely trigger me. But at the same time, I feel like my lives experience let’s me bond with my patients in a way no other nurse could. I just feel so alone. Is anyone else here a major hypocrite and work with eating disorders?
  • enchante likes this

#2 enchante

enchante

Advanced Warrior

• Accountability access
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • LocationPennsylvania

Posted 14 September 2021 - 09:02 PM

i have always wanted to work with eating disorders as well. i don't think you're a hypocrite. you have a deep personal connection to it, and besides you said you started working there when you were at the time behavior free. the way i see it, you had struggled with something you'd overcome and wanted to help others do the same. you can't help the fact that you relapsed. don't feel guilty. i don't think you're in it for the wrong reasons at all.