Nail Polish - Beauty, Health and Wellness - Forums and Community

About MPA

MPA is a site dedicated to the support or recovery of those suffering from eating disorders or body dysmorphic disorders. Please be sensitive to this fact when creating an account and contributing to the board.

Nail Polish

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_adipokine_*

Guest_adipokine_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 October 2013 - 05:08 AM

So, I'm a guy who has fairly short nails. I like painting them black, or dark blue, etc. I'm fairly new to painting them, however.

For those of you who paint your nails, how long do you leave the polish on before changing it? If you scrape or chip some polish off, is it better to remove the whole nail and start again, or try to fill in the chipped polish?

I'm putting down a clear base coat, 2 same color coats, and a clear top coat. Is that overkill, or not enough?

Thanks!!

• ceviestermirm likes this

#2 Guest_floating_*

Guest_floating_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 October 2013 - 05:54 AM

eh, just depends on the look you're going for or how anal you are about your nails.  that is the proper way; base, 2 coats, top coat.  they even have top coats that double as a base coat so you just have to buy one bottle.  

i personally remove the whole thing if it chips, b/c that doesn't go with my . .  look.  i don't usually try to color over the chipped part b/c sometimes the new polish and old polish look uneven and bumpy if you get what i'm saying.  so it's just what u feel comfy with i guess.

#3 Borderl1ne

Borderl1ne

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 29 October 2013 - 05:58 AM